Phylum Chlorophyta; sub-phylum Chlorophyceae; Order Zygnematales

There are two groups of Desmids: the "Placoderm" and the "Saccoderm" Desmids.

Placoderm desmids have cells composed of two halves (semicells), often almost divided from each other by deep median incisions. The cells are symmetrical about 3 planes, and often bear elaborate ornamentation. Genera are Cosmarium, Cosmocladium, Euastrum, Micrasterias, Staurastrum, Staurodesmus, Xanthidium.

Saccoderm desmids are simple shapes, cylindrical or spindle-shaped, rarely with any median constriction. This group forms the family Mesotaeniaceae and includes the genera Cylindrocystis, Mesotaenium, Netrium, Roya, Spirotaenia, Tortitaenia, and, in the suborder Closteriinae, Closterium, Gonatozygon and Penium, and in the suborder Desmidiinae, Actinotaenium.







Unicellular Desmid: semicells without marginal incisions or spines, but have many small processes and arms tipped with spines (2 or more arms per semicell)
Staurastrum anatinum  
Staurastrum arctiscon  
Staurastrum armigerum fo. furcigerum
Staurastrum asperum  
Staurastrum avicula  
Staurastrum bieneanum  
Staurastrum ?cerastes  
Staurastrum chaetoceras  
Staurastrum cingulum  
Staurastrum ?cingulum v. obesum  
Staurastrum ?dilatatum  
Staurastrum ?furcatum  
Staurastrum gracile  
Staurastrum ?hirsutum  
Staurastrum ?hirsutum v. muricatum  
Staurastrum inflexum  
Staurastrum johnsonii  
Staurastum longispinum  
Staurastrum lunatum  
Staurastrum manfeldtii  
Staurastrum ophiura  
Staurastrum planctonicum  
Staurastrum polytrichum  
Staurastrum proboscideum  
Staurastrum pseudopelagicum  
Staurastrum sexangulare  
Staurastrum teliferum  

click on an image to enlarge: use the browser back button to return to this page


John Kinross
[return to desmid key]
(back to desmid key)